Print Document or Download PDF

List of Awards Given by Indian Government

Feed by Manisha Cat- Articles
List of Awards Given by Indian Government

Every country honors the conflicts made by the citizens. India also recognizes the struggles of the citizens and honors them with various awards. These awards are given to them in view of their contributions in diverse fields.

List of Awards given by Indian Government

Those areas include mainly science, sports, social causes and human welfare, entertainment etc. There is a panel of judges nominated for the nomination, who nominate on the basis of various criteria.

This award is given for the purpose of appreciating and honoring the excellent and admirable work done by the citizens in diverse areas.

1. Bharat Ratna -

Bharat Ratna is the country's highest award. This award is given to the citizens of India who have done extraordinary and incomparable performance in the fields of literature, science, sports, social work and art. This award is made in the shape of yellow leaf, on which the sun is also printed.

Bharat Ratna is written in the Devanagari script on the leaves of the peepal. The award was first given to three citizens in 1954.

Nelson Mandela, Sachin Tendulkar, Mother Teresa, Satyajit Ray, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi and many other citizens are among some famous citizens who have received this award.

2. Padma Vibhushan -

Padma Vibhushan This is India's second largest civilian honor, which is given for extraordinary and prestigious service in any field, including the service provided by government employees. This award is of round shape, on which the Padma is held. At the last part of the award, written in the Devanagari script, Satyamev Jayate is written.

The award was instituted in 1954 and was first introduced by Nand Lal Bose, B.G. Kher and V. K. Menon, this award was given to. Sachin Tendulkar is the youngest person to get this famous award, who has done exceptionally well in Indian cricket.

3. Padma Bhushan -

This is the third highest civilian award in India, which identifies the nation as the highest standard of service in any field. The award was instituted by the first President of India, Rajendra Prasad on 2 January 1954.

The design of this award is similar to the Padma Vibhushan award. Prior to this award, Radha Krishnan Gupta, Amar Nath Jha and M.S. Subbalakshmi was there.

4. Padma Shri -

After Bharat Ratna, Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan, it is the fourth highest award in the country. The award was given in 1954 and the award is written by Padma Shri in Devanagari script.

This award is adorned with stainless steel. It is provided to citizens of India in recognition of their extraordinary contribution in various fields including medicine, education, public affairs, arts, science, literature etc.

Every year the award is announced on Republic Day. To date 2913 people have been honored with this award.

5. Param Vir Chakra -

This is the highest military award given to the army personnel of the country. This award is given alive and bravely to the army staff who wish to give their lives in battle.

This award is from the 'Wheel of Param Bahadur'. Along with this award, many facilities and a large amount of money are also given to the family of the soldier.

6. Arjuna Award -

This award is given by the Government of India to the player who performs best in the field of sports.

It was started in 1961 and along with this award Arjuna's bronze statue and cash amount are also given. To get this award, the player of any sport should perform best in the last three years.

7. Dadasaheb Phalke Award -

This is the best award in the field of cinema and generally this award is given during the National Film Awards. The citizens receiving this are mostly associated with the film industry and this award is given to them in view of their contribution to Indian cinema.

This award has been given to many great personalities like Dilip Kumar, Dev Anand, Asha Bhosle.

8. Ashok Chakra Award -

Ashoka Chakra is the highest peace award, given to the military personnel in view of their courage and sacrifice. This award is equal to the Param Vir Chakra. This award can also be given to the general citizen employee.

9. Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Award 

This is a Science Award, which is given on the basis of contributions made in the fields of science such as Pharmaceuticals, Chemistry, Engineering, Biology etc.

It was first started in 1969, and a medal is given in this award, which is made up of golden lotus and cash is also given along with it.
Shashi Kapoor, Lata Mangeshkar, Yash Chopra, Manoj Kumar, Asha Bhosle etc. have been honored with this award.

10. Sahitya Akademi Award 

This is the best literary award, which is given to writers for their incomparable contribution in the field of literature. Cash award is also included in this award.
Its plaque is designed by the famous filmmaker Satyajit Ray.

All of the above are our country's highest award, which is given after seeing the extraordinary performance done by the citizens in diverse areas.

Read More.

Go Back