Print Document or Download PDF


Feed by Kumar Sanu Cat- Education

Composed by Rabindra Nath Tagore, the song Jana-gana-mana is the National Anthem of India. The song was first sung at the Calcutta session of the Indian National Congress on December 27, 1911. It was adopted by the Constituent Assembly of India on January 24, 1950 as India's Notional Anthem. The complete song consists of five stanzas but the first stanza constitutes the full version of the National Anthem. The playing time of the full version of the National Anthem is about 52 seconds. However, a shorter version compressing the first and last lines of the stanza, which has a playing time of about 20 seconds, is played on some occasions. It reads: Jana-gana-manes-adhinoyaka, Jaya he Bharat-bhogya-vidhato Punjab-Sindhu-Gujorata-Maralha Dravida-Utkala-Bango Vindhya-Himachal-Yomuno-Ganga Uchhala-ialadhi-laranga Tava shubh name jage lave shubh asisa mange, gohe lava Jaya gatha, Janagana-mangala-dayaka, joys he Bharat bhagya vidhala. Jaya he, Jaya he, Jaya he, Jaya jay° lap, jay-a he. The English rendering of the song, as given by Rabindra Nath Tagore, is as folio.: Thou art the ruler of the mind of all people, dispenser of India's destiny. The name rouses the hearts of PunjaA, Sind, Gujarat and Maratha.

Read More.

Go Back